rolls royce old

Rolls-Royce History

  • Rolls-Royce Limited was founded in 1906 by Charles Rolls and Henry Royce.
    In 1904, it was agreed that CS Rolls & Co will sell only cars manufactured Royce limited and that the car would be called "Rolls-Royce".
    Between 1904 and the beginning of World War 2 in 1939, about 22 200 cars were produced.
    In 1907, the company launched a six-cylinder Silver Ghost, 6173 sales by1925.
    Between 1906 and 1972 the company produced about 20 different models, including the Phantom, Wraith, Silver Wraith, Silver Dawn and the range of Silver Shadow.
    In 1971, Rolls-Royce Limited had been nationalized by the British government when he ran into serious financial problems.
    Two years later, in 1973, it was de-nationalized to form the "Rolls-Royce Motors" and "Rolls-Royce Limited" (aircraft engine business).
    In 1975, the "Rolls-Royce Motors" began the Camargue, the production of which ceased in 1986.
    "Rolls-Royce Motors" was acquired by the British company Vickers in 1980and later, in 1998, the Volkswagen.
    Rights to Rolls-Royce name and logo, however, have been licensed to BMW and the "Rolls-Royce Motors" was only allowed to use the name and logo before January 1, 2003.
    In 2002, Volkswagen owns "Rolls-Royce Motors" has stopped production of its Corniche model.
    In January 2003, BMW, a subsidiary of "Rolls-Royce Motor Cars" started his model Phantom.